About Vicksburg Blues:

World-renowned pianist/clarinetist Butch Thompson and Grammy-winning guitarist Pat Donohue have collaborated regularly on A Prairie Home Companion. Now the duo release their first album together! It is full of fun original and classic acoustic blues, including songs written by Butch's mentor, blues legend Little Brother Montgomery.

Vicksburg Blues
by Butch Thompson and Pat Donohue

Track listing:

  1. Midnight Hour Blues
  2. How Long Blues
  3. Poker Woman
  4. Vicksburg Blues
  5. Evenin'
  6. If I Had You
  7. Mean Mistreater Blues
  8. Blues for Little Brother
  9. Papa's on the Housetop
  10. 219 Blues
  11. Better Days
  12. Blues for Two
  13. Sunday Rag
  14. A Minor Fantasy
  15. You Can't Lose a Broken Heart
  16. Kansas City Man Blues
  17. Workingman Blues
  18. That D Strain
  19. Yancey Blues

Audio for this preview is no longer available.

From the Publisher:

Staples of the twin Cities jazz, blues and folk scenes, world renowned pianist/clarinetist Butch Thompson and Grammy winning singer/guitarist Pat Donohue have collaborated for the last several decades, performing regularly on the national radio show A Prairie Home Companion. Their long-awaited first duo recording is highly evocative of the early jazz piano and acoustic guitar recordings of Leroy Carr and Scrapper Blackwell, and features 14 classic tracks by greats like Carr, Little Brother Montgomery, Jelly Roll Morton, as well as five Thompson and Donohue originals.

Donohue is a talented songwriter whose original songs have been recorded by Chet Atkins, Kenny Rogers, and more. Pianist Thompson is regarded as one of the foremost early jazz artists in the world. His dazzling New Orleans and Kansas City stride-style technique is simply without parallel.

From the Prairie Home Companion archives

“Mean Mistreater Blues” along with a chat about the album:

“How Long Blues”:

American Public Media © |   Terms and Conditions   |   Privacy Policy