May 8, 2004—Talent from Twelve to Twenty
This week, we welcome the six finalists in our Talent from Twelve to Twenty contest. A double bass and violin duo from Philadelphia; a classical pianist from Providence; a singer/songwriter from Wimberley, Texas; a uilleann piper from Baltimore; a guitarist from Eugene, Oregon; and traditional-music-playing brothers from Fulton, New York, join us on our stage at the Fitzgerald Theater in St. Paul.

Listen to the show
Requires free RealAudio player. See how to listen.

In its entirety
Listen to the whole show, recorded on May 8, 2004, from St. Paul, Minnesota

In segments
Play individual show segments as listed below.

Segment 1
00:00:00Logo (MPR)
00:00:13Tishomingo Blues
00:02:30GK opens, talks about Major League Baseball advertising, St. Paul banning smoking
00:04:43GK brings out talent show contestants, they draw numbers for order
00:12:35GK announces voting procedure for the contest
00:13:29Teen script
Segment 2
00:16:08Eliot Grasso - "O'Hare's Tilt"/"The Chiaroscuro Jig"/"Jig of Quills"
00:21:36Band Playoff ("No Such Thing")
00:21:58GK talks about the awards we are giving out tonight
Segment 3
00:22:24Katie Hyun and Nathan Farrington with Andrew Staupe - Bottesini Grand Duo, 3rd movement
00:28:39Band Playoff ("All I Wanna Do")
00:28:56Powdermilk Biscuit Break
Segment 4
00:30:46Sahara Smith - "It Don't Rain Much"
00:35:30Band playoff (Don't Know Why)
00:35:45Rhubarb script
Segment 5
00:39:42Andrew and Noah VanNorstrand - "Quickbeam"/"Gondolin"
00:44:46Band Playoff (Hey Ya!)
00:45:01GK talks about voting procedure
Segment 6
00:45:36Brooks E. Robertson - "Cannonball Rag"
00:49:43Band Playoff ("Get the Party Started")
Segment 7
00:49:57Mo Tian - "Rigoletto Paraphrase" (Liszt)
00:56:56Band Playoff ("All-Star")
00:57:08GK announces it's time to vote! And talks about the value of music in the schools.
Segment 8
00:58:44Mo Tian - "Rigoletto Paraphrase" (Liszt)
01:01:33"Forever Young" - GK, Sahara Smith, Shoe Band, and Eliot Grasso
01:05:33Welcome back to the second half, greetings, Kid script
01:10:36More Greetings
Segment 9
01:13:11The News from Lake Wobegon
01:32:22"Blackbird" - Rich Dworsky
01:35:00GK announces finalists: Brooks E. Robertson, Andrew and Noah VanNorstrand, and Sahara Smith
Segment 10
01:36:50Andrew and Noah VanNorstrand - "Megan's Mind"
01:41:11Sahara Smith - "Twilight Red"
01:46:24Brooks E. Robertson - "Eiffel Power"
Segment 11
01:50:36Sauce script
01:52:00GK presents Ray Marklund award to Eliot Grasso
01:53:53Audience votes for winner: Brooks E. Robertson (2nd place to Sahara Smith, 3rd place to Andrew and Noah VanNorstrand)
01:57:33"Monaghan Twig" closer - Andrew and Noah VanNorstrand and Eliot Grasso

Photos from the show
Click images to view slideshow. (Photos taken by Kelly Schaub)

Eliot GrassoKatie Hyun and Nathan Farrington
Sahara Smith Noah and Andrew Van Norstrand
Brooks E. Robertson Mo Tian

Guest Information
  • Brooks E. Robertson
  • Sahara Smith
  • Noah and Andrew Van Norstrand
  • Nathan Farrington
  • Katie Hyun
  • Mo Tian
  • Eliot Grasso
  • Auditions
    Hear auditions and performances!

    Guest Recordings
  • Noah and Andrew Van Norstrand
  • Eliot Grasso

  • Scripts
  • Teen
  • Rhubarb
  • Kid
  • Sauce

  • Music Information
    Performers, music sources and credits

    Online Greetings
  • This week's greetings
  • Submit a greeting
  • Chat About the Show
    Join the Chatterbox and share your thoughts about the show.

    Old Sweet Songs: A Prairie Home Companion 1974-1976

    Old Sweet Songs

    Lovingly selected from the earliest archives of A Prairie Home Companion, this heirloom collection represents the music from earliest years of the now legendary show: 1974–1976. With songs and tunes from jazz pianist Butch Thompson, mandolin maestro Peter Ostroushko, Dakota Dave Hull and the first house band, The Powdermilk Biscuit Band (Adam Granger, Bob Douglas and Mary DuShane).

    Available now»

    American Public Media © |   Terms and Conditions   |   Privacy Policy