May 28, 2011 // Show # 1291


The Wailin' Jennys

Coming to you this week from The Filene Center at Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts, it's a howling good broadcast performance of A Prairie Home Companion with Garrison Keillor. With special guests, American roots trio The Wailin' Jennys, humorist Roy Blount Jr., tenor Paul Appleby, and vocalist Andra Suchy. Also with us, The Royal Academy of Radio Acting; Tim Russell, Sue Scott, and Fred Newman, Rich Dworsky & The Guy's All-Star Shoe Band, and the latest News from Lake Wobegon.

Click any image to start the slideshow


Listen to the complete show (mp3)

Audio available Sundays at noon.


    Show Segments
    Listen to individual segments as listed below. Times may be edited for broadcast.

  • Segment 1
    • 00:00:00 Logo
    • 00:00:12 Tishomingo Blues, opening
    • 00:03:18 White House Blues
    • 00:05:37 SFX script
    • 00:09:15 The Lives of the Cowboys script
    • 00:16:55 Bob Dylan Medley: It Ain't Me, Stuck Inside of Mobile With The Memphis Blues, A Hard Rain's Gonna Fall, It's All Over Now, Baby Blue- Shoe Band
    • 00:19:40 GK intros Roy Blount Jr.
    • 00:21:00 Roy Blount recites from his book
    • 00:26:24 Powdermilk Biscuit Break
  • Segment 2
    • 00:28:00 Washington DC Song
    • 00:32:00 GK intros Wailin' Jennys
    • 00:32:57 Mona Louise- Wailin' Jennys and Richard Kriehn
    • 00:37:46 Last Goodbye- Wailin' Jennys and Richard Kriehn
    • 00:41:05 Guy Noir script
    • 00:50:22 "Kuda, Kuda" (Lensky's Aria)- Paul Appleby, with Kim Witman
    • 00:57:17 GK talks about Howard Nemerov, recites "The War in the Air"
    • 00:59:26 The Day After Tomorrow- Paul Appleby and The Guy's All-Star Shoe Band
    • 01:04:18 Intermission- Gee Whiz
  • Segment 3
    • 01:07:30 Greetings
    • 01:10:34 Forever Young/ If Not For You- Garrison Keillor and Andra Suchy
    • 01:14:40 Ketchup script
    • 01:17:46 Beautiful Day- GK, Andra Suchy and The Guy's All-Star Shoe Band
    • 01:21:05 Tenting Tonight/ Shall We Gather At The River- GK, Paul Appleby, Shoe Band, live audience
    • 01:26:09 GK intros Wailin' Jennys
    • 01:27:00 You Are Here- Wailin' Jennys and Richard Kriehn
  • Segment 4
    • 01:31:04 News From Lake Wobegon
  • Segment 5
    • 01:44:04 American Tune- Paul Appleby and The Guy's All-Star Shoe Band
    • 01:47:57 Ruth script
    • 01:54:15 Credits, I Shall Be Released/ Knockin' on Heaven's Door/ Flop-Eared Mule

Need help listening to the audio? See how to listen.

Old Sweet Songs: A Prairie Home Companion 1974-1976

Old Sweet Songs

Lovingly selected from the earliest archives of A Prairie Home Companion, this heirloom collection represents the music from earliest years of the now legendary show: 1974–1976. With songs and tunes from jazz pianist Butch Thompson, mandolin maestro Peter Ostroushko, Dakota Dave Hull and the first house band, The Powdermilk Biscuit Band (Adam Granger, Bob Douglas and Mary DuShane).

Available now»

American Public Media © |   Terms and Conditions   |   Privacy Policy