November 26, 2011 // Show # 1317


Rob Fisher

Coming to you this week, a live broadcast performance from the Town Hall in New York, NY. With special guests, distinguished conductor and pianist Rob Fisher, humorist Calvin Trillin, actress and singer Debra Monk, and vocalist Heather Masse. Also with us, the Royal Academy of Radio Actors; Tim Russell, Sue Scott, and Fred Newman, The Guy's All-Star Shoe Band, and the latest News from Lake Wobegon.

Click any image to start the slideshow


Listen to the complete show (mp3)

Audio available Sundays at noon.

    Show Segments
    Listen to individual segments as listed below. Times may be edited for broadcast.

  • Segment 1
    • 00:00 Logo
    • 00:00:13 Tishomingo Blues - GK and Shoe Band
    • 00:02:38 GK Opens
    • 00:04:05 Now Thank We All Our God - GK, Heather Masse and Shoe Band
    • 00:07:52 SFX Script
    • 00:11:35 Thanksgiving Menu - GK, Heather Masse and Richard Dworsky
    • 00:16:20 Guy Noir Script
    • 00:29:48 Powdermilk Biscuit Break
  • Segment 2
    • 00:32:04 In the Evenin' - Pat Donohue and The Guy's All-Star Shoe Band
    • 00:36:08 Calvin Trillin speaks (GK intros)
    • 00:46:17 Miracle (Whip) on 43rd Street - Andy Stein and The Guy's All-Star Shoe Band
    • 00:47:57 Mom Script
    • 00:55:28 Little Surplus Me - Debra Monk and Rob Fisher with Gary Raynor and Peter Johnson
    • 00:59:47 I Am the Light of This World - Pat Donohue, GK, Heather Masse and Shoe Band
    • 01:03:31 Intermission - Some of These Days
  • Segment 3
    • 01:07:22 GK Greetings
    • 01:10:34 When We're Gone, Long Gone - GK, Heather Masse and Shoe Band
    • 01:13:54 Deer Script
    • 01:21:48 I Don't Know Why - Debra Monk and Rob Fisher with Gary Raynor, Peter Johnson and Andy Stein
  • Segment 4
    • 01:25:24 News From Lake Wobegon
  • Segment 5
    • 01:38:05 I Don't Wanna Wake Up Today - Heather Masse with Shoe Band
    • 01:42:06 Joke Script
    • 01:47:02 Ragtime Dance - Rob Fisher with Fred Newman
    • 01:49:48 Rhubarb Script
    • 01:54:02 Credits into When We're Gone, Long Gone into I Am the Light of This World

Need help listening to the audio? See how to listen.

Old Sweet Songs: A Prairie Home Companion 1974-1976

Old Sweet Songs

Lovingly selected from the earliest archives of A Prairie Home Companion, this heirloom collection represents the music from earliest years of the now legendary show: 1974–1976. With songs and tunes from jazz pianist Butch Thompson, mandolin maestro Peter Ostroushko, Dakota Dave Hull and the first house band, The Powdermilk Biscuit Band (Adam Granger, Bob Douglas and Mary DuShane).

Available now»

American Public Media © |   Terms and Conditions   |   Privacy Policy